Mníšek pod Brdy castle
The first written mention of the Mníšek pod Brdy castle is already in the Code of Charles IV. from 1348. Archeological findings from the courtyard of the castle showed that in the end of the 13th century or early 14th century there already stood a small castle surrounded by walls and moat. In 1487 Lords of Milovice obtain MNÍŠEK and in the 16th century made extensive substantial construction work. In 1639 the castle was taken by Swedes. In 1655 the castle was bought by Prague burgher who made a reconstruction lasting 1656 – 1672. In 1848, the castle partially burned.
In 1910 – 1911 the castle was restored by Kast from Ebelberg. In 1945 it was ravaged and subsequently confiscated. The building was owened by the Mnistry of the Interior. In 2000 the castle was clean out and transferred to the NPÚ which approached to an extensive restoration. It´s a unique project that tries to catch the state of the castle in the early 20th century. There is a guided tour that introduces visitors to the lifestyle and housing of aristocracy in the period between the world wars. The circuit includes 11 historical rooms that shows housing of aristocracy in the early 20th century. It is a representative room – Winter garden, The Chapel, Large dining room, Pantries, Large salon with a clock tower, Male salon, Ladie´s salon, Library, Hunting salon and Arcade with boarding stairs.