Gold Museum Nový Knín
Museum is located on Jiří z Poděbrad Square in a historical building called The Mint from the 15th century. This square is the former seat of burgomaster office in the upper royal city on the banks of the gold-bearing river Kocába.
The expositions shows history of mining and processing of gold at Nový Knín from the earliest time till the 20th century, history of the city, local trades and industry and the history of world championship in gold panning at home and also abroad.
The Gold mining royal city Nový Knín has currently more than 1700 inhabitants. The city consists of original villages as Nový Knín, Starý Knín, Sudovice, Kozí Hory, Chramiště a Libčice.
The first signs of the humanity in Novoknín landscape appeared in the stone age. It is proved by the findings of two polished stone axes. That place attracted by findings of gold, as there is evidence of preserved traces of digging, underground tunnels or archeological findings and some of them are presented in the local museum.
The importance of Knín is evidenced by the first written mention from the 1186. It is about historical event having great significance for the entire additional period of Czech staehood. The same year was on the princely Přemysl court made a contract knows as “Knín peace” which mention reconnection of Moravia to Bohemia in one whole. This agreement was the result of the peace of negotiations between the Czech Prince Frederick and Moravian Margrave Konrád Otto. The fact that this meeting took place just in Knín, underscores the considerable importance of the place in that time. This period is also related to one of the most valuable exhibits of the museum, called Vikings bracelet.
Between 1218 and 1219 lives here Přemysl Otakar I. following our next monarch John of Luxembourg in 1341. There is a local note from 1321 speaking mention about the local village. In the following years the development of gold mining brought to these lands mainly miners. The town has lifted up so high that in 1379 had already own school.
Unluckily the development was interruped by the Hussite wars. The city was burned down together with rare lists, especially a privilege given for Nový Knín in 1437 from the King Zikmund of Luxembourg. King George of Poděbrady evidenced all of existing rights in writting form. The rights as: exemption from taxation, the right in founding of mines, the right to take away wood from royal forests, the right to pasture cattle on royal meadows, the right of hunting hares, birds and fish on public lands and in local waters, mile right in cooking and puring a beer and the right of execution within one mile of the city.
In the 16th century, Nový Knín finally recieved the biggest boom. It belong to the royal gold mining cities, along with the towns Jílové and Kašperské Hory. Nový Knín was managed as the highest master of mint.
The ThirtyYears War in 1939 got New Knín down. In October barged into the town Swedish army of general Banner. The town was looted and burned down, most of the inhabitants were killed. For many years Knín stayed in ruins. In 1680 the remaining inhabitnats gained confirmation of their rights by King Leopold I. Habsburg but former prosperity has never returned.
Following effort to restore mining has not led to success, althought these activities existed until the second half of the 20th century.
In 1776 because of Empress Maria Theresa was the importance of the city quite high. She founded Beekeeping School, the only one in the country.
In 1850 Administrative reform rid Nový Knín of ancient privilegs of the royal mining town and showed how inauspicious obstacles will be on the road to further development. In 1897 construction of the railway passing Nový Knín in distance of 2,5 km and leading from Prague to Dobříš brought a poor remedy. Economic conditions of development got worse. Nový Knín was depended mainly on the craft, agriculture production and trade.
The expansion of these activities were interrupted in the first half of 20th century by the World War II. and after by the commmunist regime in July 1948.
Currently, the town is changing. It is influenced by the reformed property relations after November 1989.
In 1990 the environmental protection was secured by announcing the urban conservation area.
In 1996 was restored city status of Nový Knín.
Gold Museum Nový Knín, a branch of Příbram Mining Museum is located in a historical building called Mints on George of Poděbrady Square. Since 1561 the bulding served as the seat of burgomaster office.
Renaissance, originally Gothic house, was rebuild in Baroque style, the Empire facade dates back from 1801.
The exposition located on the first floor of the building acquaint with the history of mining and processing of gold at Nový Knín region, the history of the city, local crafts and industry and the history of The World Cup in gold panning at home and abroad.
official websites of Nový Knín town