TOČNÍK Castle

Hrad Točník
Točník Castle

Točník Castle

The castle is first mentioned in 1398.

The castle let built Wenceslas IV. to replace burned Žebrák Castle.

The castle was designed as a representative , architecturally sophisticated building. Renaissance modifications were made by lords of Wartenberg and Lobkowicz.

During the Thirty Year War the castle became desolated and only former royal palace was used.

Josef Colloredo-Mansfeld was the last aristocratic owner and he had the castle till 1923. After he gave it together with Žebrák Castle to the Czech Tourist Club.

 

Source:

www.tocnik.com

promedia