Visit the monuments inscribed on the UNESCO Heritage List, on which the Czech Republic has 12 monuments in total.
Visit the UNESCO sites in Třebíč and Telč, the extraordinary Tugendhat villa, the area of Lednice and Valtice chateaus, the Vranov chateau and Červená lhota chateau.
- see the unique town Třebíč with the Jewish Quarter
- visit the extraordinary Tugendhat villa ∗∗∗
- explore the chateaus in Lednice and Valtice
- taste the wine from Southern Moravia in a wine cellar
- visit the chateau Vranov on Dyje river
- visit the town of Telč
- visit Červená Lhota chateau
- monuments inscribed in UNESCO in 2003, 2001, 1996 and 1992
You will get to know the part of the UNESCO World Heritage, you will see the town of Třebíč and its Ghetto, the extraordinary Tugendhat villa, the unique area of Lednice-Valtice, you will see the chateau Vranov, the town of Telč and Červená Lhota chateau. The excellent wines of Southern Moravia can’t be overlooked either.
|SCHEDULE||Duration of the tour 3 day
from Prague at 8.00 am
from the guesthouse at 8.30 am
|visit of Třebíč including the Jewish Quarter
||breakfast in the guesthouse
||breakfast in the guesthouse
|lunch in a local restaurant
|| visit of Lednice chateau
||visit of Vranov chateau
|visit of Tugendhat villa ∗∗∗
||lunch in a local restaurant
||visit of Telč
|accommodation in a guesthouse in Lednice
||visit of Valtice chateau
||lunch in a local restaurant
|dinner in a local restaurant
||accommodation in a
guesthouse in Vranov
|visit of Červená Lhota chateau
|visit of a wine cellar
||dinner in a local restaurant
|End of Day 1: situational
||End of Day 1 around 6.00 pm
||End of Day 3 around 6.00 pm
∗∗∗ A tour of this monument is so popular that it’s sold out 6 months in advance.
In case of failure to provide tour to the villa will be inspected only from the outside.
The beginning of Třebíč are dated back to the 11th and 12th century, when the princes of Moravia founded a Benedictine monastery here.
Formerly, the basilica was dedicated to Virgin Mary, but due to the complete destruction in numerous wars the building served for more worldly affairs for more than 200 years. After the reconstruction, the basilica was consecrated to St. Procopius and started to be used by the Church.
Třebíč was an important center of the Jewish culture in Moravia and the uniquely preserved Jewish ghetto is a silent memento to the coexistence of Jews and Christians. The Jewish quarter with a high urban density constitutes more than 120 houses, which are accompanied by buildings of former Jewish institutions – town hall, school, rabbinate and poorhouse. After Jerusalem, the Jewish monuments in Třebíč are the only ones inscribed independently on the UNESCO Heritage List, in 2003.
Fritz Tugendhat (1895-1958) and his wife Greta (born Löw-Beer, 1903-1970) came from the families of German Jews, with industrialist and trader background, who had lived in Brno for several generations.
After the unsuccessful first marriage, Greta married Fritz Tugendhat whom she had known since her childhood. Both decided to stay in Brno and before their marriage they asked the architect, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, to design a family house. It was Greta who wanted to make the request to the already famous man and her husband supported her. “I always wished for a modern, spacious house with simple and direct shapes. My husband was afraid of rooms full of toys, and dolls, such as those he knew in his childhood.”
Mies arrived to Brno in September of 1928 and he was immediately charmed by the exclusive building plot, overlooking the historical panorama of the city, therefore he accepted the offer.
He designed and implemented the solitary three storey villa, set in a sloping terrain, oriented towards southeast. In the first floor (basement) there are technical facilities. The second floor (actually the ground floor) consists of the main living area with a winter garden and a terrace, also a kitchen with accessories and rooms for personnel. In the third floor there is a main entrance from the street with the passage to the terrace, the entrance hall, and the rooms of parents, children and a nanny.
For its time, it was the operational and technical facilities and also the house equipment what made this building extraordinary.
Two large windows were able to be lowered to the floor thanks to electric motors.
There was a water supply with drinking and utility water, and also the air conditioning system – the combination of heating, cooling and humidification.
The most important building of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe in Europe was inscribed on the UNESCO Heritage List in 2001.
The first mentions about this area date back to year 1222. By the end of the 13th century, the Liechtenstein family, originally from Styria, became the proprietors of Lednice and Mikulov. They gradually amassed the properties on the both sides of the Moravian-Austrian border.
Hartmann II of Liechtenstein had the medieval fortress demolished and on its place, a renaissance chateau was built. However, at the end of the 17th century it was destroyed as well. Instead, they constructed a baroque residence with spacious gardens and a monumental riding school. The architect was Jan Bernard Fischer of Erlach, and the building was preserved until today, with only insignificant changes.
The present look of the building dates back to years 1846-1858. Prince Alois II of Liechtenstein has decided that Vienna is unsuitable for holding summer feasts, and he had Lednice rebuilt into a representative summer residence in the style of English Gothic. Representative halls on the ground floor served for the meetings of European nobility. They are equipped with carved ceilings, wooden wall paneling and choice furniture.
The area of Lednice-Valtice, as one of the treasures of cultural and natural heritage, is along with its historical objects, garden architecture, ponds, and a network of cycling roads considered to be the largest manmade area in Europe.
It was inscribed on the UNESCO Heritage List in 1996.
Valtice (Feldberg in German), a town located in lower Austria until 1920, and as such has shared the administrative, economic and church history with that country. The first written mention about Valtice is from the January 10, 1193.
This aristocratic residence has remained in the property of the Liechtensteins until 1945 and was their main representative place. Its vicinity to Lednice led to the creation of an important Central European complex.
In the chateau itself, on the first floor exhibition, visitors can get acquainted with the changes in the contemporary styles, and aside from the baroque areas also with the perception of Baroque style in the 19th and 20th century. The chateau in Valtice was not only the residence of the prince, but in the time of his absence, the representative rooms were open to the public, proven from the first half of the 19th century. In this context, the first exhibition was created, which presented valuables from the Liechtenstein belongings.
The decision to move the chateau under the direct administration of National Conservation was undoubtedly based on preserving the values, formed through the ages.
The chateau in Valtice is an important part of the Lednice-Valtice area, insribed on the UNESCO Heritage List in 1996.
The Vranov area in Southern Moravia, passed through by the life-giving river Dyje, had been inviting since the prehistoric ages. In the 11th century at the latest, after prince Oldřich occupied Moravia, a border castle was constructed here as a part of the area’s defense system. It was probably wooden, secured by a palisade with trenches and mounds. By the end of the 15th century, the Vranov valley was controlled by a gothic fortress, masterfully benefiting from the natural advantages of the high ground with a meandering river.
A fast changing of owners followed soon after. The most important ones were the Althanns, however, an ancient family originally from Bavaria, who appeared in Moravia in the last quarter of the 16th century. The main objective of Count Michal Jan II of Athann was to construct a modern, representative residence, with the interior corresponding to the demands of the time period. He chose the main author – one of the most important personalities of the Central European Baroque, a young court architect Jan Bernard Fischer of Erlach. And so one of the treasures of the baroque secular architecture was created: a building with a balanced composition, and perfectly artistically matched. Every one of its visual components are subordinate to a single goal: to glorify the Althanns with pride. The classicism enriched not only the chateau itself, but also its immediate area.
Shortly after 1938, when Vranov became a part of Hitler’s Third Reich, is was confiscated and sold to Gebhard von der Wense-Mörse, a German baron.
After the end of the Second World War, the state became the owner and opened Vranov to public.
A legend says that the town was founded after the victory of the Prince of Moravia, Otto II., against the Prince of Bohemia, Břetislav, in 1099.
The historical center, enclosed with ponds and gates, has held its distinctive image for centuries, since the times of Zachariáš of Hradec. Formerly it was a royal water fortress from the 13th century, founded on the intersection of trade routes, which got its today look thanks to the 16th century reconstruction. The extensive renaissance castle complex was designed by B. Maggi from Arogno. One of the parts of the castle is also interestingly planned garden with a park.
The historical center of the town was inscribed on the UNESCO Heritage List in 1992.
Červená lhota chateau, former fortress, was constructed in the middle of the 14th century. The first written mention are from 1465.
The fortress was often renovated and changed a lot of owners. In 1946 it became state property and from 1949 has been open to the public.
Price of the trip 613,- Eur / pers (05 – 09 )
Price of the trip 683,- Eur / pers (04,10) *
* Price is higher out of season. The monument is open for booked groups.
– more or less than 4 persons – individual calculation
– If you require a guide, specify it and we will prepare individual price calculation.
- On all the sights local guides are available and if they can’t speak in your requested language, prepared texts in your language will be provided.
And of course, we will provide basic information about the trip, sights, and the Czech Republic in written form, possibly accompanied by audio recordings.
– Organizer TA Pavlína Fulnečková https://www.grandafrika.cz/
Město Třebíč http://www.trebic.cz/historie-mesta/d-1383/p1=8957
Unesco Czech http://www.unesco-czech.cz/trebic/predstaveni/
Vila Tugendhat http://www.tugendhat.eu/cz/vila-tugendhat/fotogalerie-a-aplikace.html
zámek Lednice http://www.zamek-lednice.com/obrazova-galerie/
zámek Valtice http://www.zamek-valtice.cz/navstevnici-1/zamek-valtice/fotogalerie/
zámek Vranov http://www.zamek-vranov.cz/?hledej=fotogalerie&x=12&y=11&lang=cs
Unesco Czech http://www.unesco-czech.cz/telc/predstaveni/
Město Telč http://www.telc.eu/turista_a_volny_cas/historie
Unesco Czech http://www.unesco-czech.cz/fotogalerie/
Zámek Červená Lhota http://www.zamek-cervenalhota.eu/fotogalerie/